Egg painting

February 21, 2009 at 11:22 pm 6 comments

chcikenegg

I love the look of tempera paint and have always wanted to learn to make my own. The real thing is so much more vibrant and seems to have a glow that you can’t get from the stuff you buy in a tube. This weeks prompt at Sugar Frosted Goodness is “Chicken” and that somehow inspired me to paint a chicken using plain egg yokes. Two friends remarked independently that it was a cruel joke. I assure you that I will not show this to any chickens.

eggbowl

After painting in the background and comb with acrylic paint, I used the bright yellow yoke straight out  of the egg for the lighter areas of the chicken. It is pretty sticky, I globbed it on thick for the first layer, then regretted that I didn’t take my time and build up a lot of thin layers to prevent cracking and to give the finished piece more depth.  I definitely intend to try this again.

While my first thick layer was drying, I settled in with a cup of tea and a book. A few minutes later I heard a curious scraping sound…..

stoneeggeater

Yes, my cat licked off a good part of the tail. Fortunately for him, I was able to repair it pretty easily. When that dried I added another layer using a yoke with a bit of red paint added. I also tried adding a bit of turmeric. It didn’t really dissolve but I like the sprinkles in the tail.

chcikenwhole

Finally I added some green to the bottom of the background and some white highlights to the feathers. I don’t know how permanent this painting will be. It may all flake off next week, but right now the yoke is solid and glossy like a layer of glass.

This would be a really fun thing to do with kids. There is always the threat of salmonella with raw eggs, but I bet the yolk of  an egg over easy would work perfectly.

Entry filed under: Illustration, Sketchbook. Tags: , , , .

a clear blue sky Wonderous stop motion

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. David  |  February 22, 2009 at 8:49 am

    he’s beautiful! Great 3D effects and I like his ‘tude.

    Reply
  • 2. aimee  |  February 22, 2009 at 11:11 am

    fabulous idea!! what a cool texture the egg gave to your painting (and a good story as well!)

    Reply
  • 3. pegfussell  |  February 22, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Thanks!! The egg is getting a little bit flatter as it dries harder, but I imagine if I were to keep adding more layers I could work up quite a bas relief.

    Reply
  • 4. Andie  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Heehee, You cat DID NOT lick off the tail. That is crazy funny! I love what you did here and so clever too. I too have always wanted to make up egg paint. Now you’ve inspired me to try!!
    a.

    Reply
  • 5. Shelley Noble  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Wow! You painted a chicken with egg?! Now thanks to you, we know which came first! hee. Beautiful!

    Reply
  • 6. pegfussell  |  February 25, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Thank you guys! Yes Andie, he did gobble that tail right up!! I am sure grateful I hadn’t mixed in any poison pigments yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello!

I am an illustrator who lives and works in Kingston, Ontario. This blog is where I post published illustrations, experimental and promotional work as well as bits and pieces of other things that make life fun....drawing, cooking, gardening, friends, family. Click on one of the circles below to start a slideshow of my portfolio. To contact me about my work, please write to peg.fussell (at) gmail.com. Thanks for stopping by!

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

