IF: Wrapped

August 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm 12 comments

selfportratittowelwrapw

Its been a while since I’ve posted anything to Illustration Friday, so I thought I’d give the prompt “wrapped” a whirl.

Here is the preliminary sketch I did of myself wrapped in towels.  It doesn’t really look like me.

selftowelsketch

The nose is too short and the eyes are too big and the chin is just wrong. Self portraits are tough. One thing I learned is that if you put on a clay face mask before you start it helps you see the planes of your face. I think it changes the way you look just enough so that you can see yourself a little better. Below is a reference photo.

peggysugarskull

Ok,  yeah, I got a little carried away with the face mask…heh heh… next time I’ll use more colors and put flowers on my cheeks and make myself into a sugar skull.

For some wonderfully expressive portraits, check out my cousin Janet’s paintings. She really knows how to capture a likeness. You can find her work at the Bluebird Novelty Co.

Entry filed under: Illustration, Life drawing. Tags: , , , .

Imaginary playmates Caution

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adam Foster-Fahy  |  August 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I like your image, the photographic texture with the clean and simple line work is very effective. Your initial pencil sketch has some nice shading where you’re doing quite a good job of indicating form, why did you decide to drop all of this information from your sketch when you worked on the final piece?

    I found your post very interesting, and the little pictures of you with your face mask on are very amusing too ;) It’s quite a good idea to use a face mask to eliminate all surface detail so you can focus on the basic form and planes of your face when you’re doing a self portrait, though I can’t see me doing it ;)

    Reply
  • 2. Shelley Noble  |  August 15, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    I LOVE the illios AND the ref pix! Fantastic! I’d dig a painting of you as seen in the ref photos! Wild!

    Reply
  • 3. Paul Zdepski  |  August 15, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I love it! I think the merger of watercolor, phototexture and line are in perfect sync! The photos area riot! You should do a couple Zombie Spa pieces! Great Work!

    Reply
    • 4. pegfussell  |  August 15, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      Zombie Spa!! I love it!
      Thanks. Paul!

      Reply
  • 5. pegfussell  |  August 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Thank you all!

    Adam- I left out some details in order to simplify…maybe too many details?? Always the big decision, what stays? what goes?…just like life!

    Shelley- HA!! My cousin has done a few paintings of me in face masks. She recently sold one of the two of us in masks to a complete stranger…what a weird feeling that is!

    Reply
  • 6. Indigene  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:00 am

    I think you’ve done a great job! I love it!

    Reply
  • 7. aimee  |  August 17, 2009 at 9:29 am

    oh, peggy, you kill me! i think the likeness is wonderful! would have loved to see your drawing of that middle photo. what a great way to start my monday morning!!

    Reply
  • 8. henniemavis  |  August 17, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Love the way you underimposed the towel/texture in the final… and I love the way you exposed your process in the full blog post. You always seem to be having so much fun at home! Great stuff.

    Reply
  • 9. yaz  |  August 23, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    What a great idea.. putting a clay face mask for drawing portraits. I have never tried drawing a self-portrait. I will keep this in mind. Janet’s paintings are wonderful. I guess your whole family is very talented. How lucky you are!

    Reply
  • 10. pegfussell  |  August 24, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks guys, I am having a lot of fun playing with portraits. If any of you would like to come over and model, just let me know! I’ll provide dinner and a face mask :)

    Reply
  • 11. Andie  |  September 3, 2009 at 10:24 am

    This is so great!!

    Reply
  • 12. Bella Sinclair  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Hahahaha! Oh, Peggy!!!! This is fantastic. A really beautiful self portrait, and I’d say you did quite a stellar job with it. The photos, though, how awesome is THAT! I can tell you had so much fun with it, and it really shows. :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello!

I am an illustrator who lives and works in Kingston, Ontario. This blog is where I post published illustrations, experimental and promotional work as well as bits and pieces of other things that make life fun....drawing, cooking, gardening, friends, family. Click on one of the circles below to start a slideshow of my portfolio. To contact me about my work, please write to peg.fussell (at) gmail.com. Thanks for stopping by!

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

