Double braid with a twist

July 29, 2010 at 9:52 pm 11 comments

I am submitting an illustration for Hennie’s marvelous weekword early for two reasons. I am going to be super busy tomorrow and I think this drawing will also work for the Illustration Friday prompt double. So… without further ado,  I present this summer’s signature hairdo…. Double camp counselor braids twisted up and secured with two paintbrushes. It’s what I have been wearing almost every day lately. Will I ever stop twisting my hair into silly shapes? Probably not.

Hennie’s braid post reminds me that I intended to mention a favorite book of mine… The WIld Braid: A Poet Reflects on a Century in the Garden,  by Stanley Kunitz. It is a mix of poetry, gardening and a good life. Beautiful.

And now this coincidence… today’s Poem-A-Day,  La Figlia Che Piange has sent me into a T.S. Elliot swirl.

Entry filed under: Illustration, Life drawing. Tags: , .

The weed rebellion Happy to you!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. christine  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:43 am

    love the addition of the red flowers…
    braids + hair twists are always fashionable! cool-looking (especially when the hair is wet out of the shower or pool)! keeps the “tickly, annoying” strands of hair from falling on your sweaty neck or face!
    makes me wish I had long hair….

    Reply
  • 2. Fear the Pink  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:46 am

    This is really elegant; I love how the line flow is so natural and smooth. Very well done! =)

    Reply
  • 3. Junebug  |  July 30, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Beautiful. I love the gracefulness about it. I have a habit of putting my hair up with pencils.

    Reply
  • 4. mary taitt  |  July 31, 2010 at 12:17 am

    I loved the limited use of color with this drawing–nicely done and professional looking! :-D

    Reply
  • […] Weekword participants by clicking on their name/links below: Mary Christine Domestic Scribbles Meg Peggy Cissi Joanne Junebug (I hope I got everyone! If you participated & don’t see your name […]

    Reply
  • 6. henniemavis  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Aw, phoo. This image is so very pretty that I’m tempted to grow my hair out again… just after I stated in my braid-post that I’ve accepted a short-haired me!

    Note to self: Watch out for Peggy. She may persuade me to do things I probably shouldn’t (giggle).

    Reply
  • 7. peggy fussell  |  July 31, 2010 at 9:38 am

    Thank you all!
    Junebug, I use pencils too, and pens and chopsticks and anything else that I can twist in. Sometimes I forget to check a mirror and leave the house looking like a porcupine.
    Nobody is twisting your arm HM! I love your cute summer-do!

    Reply
  • 8. joannetolkoff  |  July 31, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Beautiful drawing. Elegant, precise and mysterious all in one.

    Reply
  • 10. lauren  |  August 2, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    this is a rather lovely illustration!
    very feminine!
    beautiful x

    Reply
  • 11. Carmen  |  August 3, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Peggy what a beautiful simple line delicious piece! It makes me think of Paris cafes, summer nights out in Fort Bragg, CA on the coast, and the elegance of my mother’s perfume when I was a kid. Absolutely lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hello!

I am an illustrator who lives and works in Kingston, Ontario. This blog is where I post published illustrations, experimental and promotional work as well as bits and pieces of other things that make life fun....drawing, cooking, gardening, friends, family. Click on one of the circles below to start a slideshow of my portfolio. To contact me about my work, please write to peg.fussell (at) gmail.com. Thanks for stopping by!

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

