Guadalajara Bird

guadalajara-map-pencilweb

I was drawing a map of Guadalajara the other day, for no particular reason, and discovered a bird walking in the streets. Do you see it?

He reminds me of a fella who took a long walk on the beach with me in Puerto Vallarta.

birdwalk2

My sketch was just a small section of the city. I checked google maps and, sure enough, there are more streets that look like tail feathers. This can’t be a coincidence! Is it my imagination or were the city planners having some fun? I added the “tail” streets to my sketch and colored the map to highlight the bird, a creature I’ve named Birdalajara.

guadalajara-map-tilesflattail-silow

The areas in green are actual parks, the rest of the colors were inspired by the Mexican ceramics and tiles that I love so much.

4 thoughts on “Guadalajara Bird

Leave a Reply

